Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Heart of American Darkness with Robert G. Parkinson

Interviewed by John Batchelor

Col Cresap, the last spring, in cold blood, and unprovoked, murdered all the relations of Logan, not sparing even my women and children. There runs not a drop of my blood in the veins of any living creature. This has called on me for revenge. I have sought it: I have killed many: I have fully glutted my vengeance. For my country, I rejoice at the beams of peace. But do not harbor a thought that mine is the joy of fear. Logan never felt fear. He will not turn on his heel to save his life. Who is there to mourn for Logan? Not one.

Logan’s Lament

It is February 1st, 1775. The Pennsylvania Journal.

This begins a story that starts in the 18th century, right prior to the American Revolution, and continues here in the 21st century and, analyzing at the forks of the Ohio, what was the relationship between the colonials, all Englishmen in general, and the Native Americans, indigenous people, especially the tribes that are famous: the Iroquois, the Shawnee, the Mingo, the Wyandot.

Today, we associate 1775 with the American Revolution. Well, simultaneously there was a contest between the Native Americans on their land and the common colonials of Virginia and Pennsylvania on their land.

I welcome Professor Robert G. Parkinson. His new book is Heart of American Darkness: Bewilderment and Horror on the Early Frontier.

Watch the full interview above, or listen to an audio version below:

0:00
-1:14:17

LINKS:

CBS Eye on the World with John Batchelor on YouTube

Heart of American Darkness by Robert Parkinson

The John Batchelor Show on Apple Podcasts:

Discussion about this podcast